standing at the base of the mountain

C

Hi! This is my first message here, so I'm bound to do something daft: post in the wrong place or suchlike.

I start my PhD at the beginning of September and I am so excited and scared. It's been 3 years since I finished my Masters and I've worked in the real world for all that time. It feels so weird to be going back to being a student again, I'd almost given up hope of research.

I have so many questions about becoming a student and completing a PhD -- first of all, my main supervisor seems absolutely amazing and has already been extremely encouraging. He has high expectations of me and I don't want to let him down.

Secondly, I'm most worried about all the practicalities -- what is the best way to keep track of references? How will I motivate myself through difficult patches? How can I avoid getting into debt? What if I fall behind? What if I just can't understand something that I should know about? What if the other PhD students don't like me?

Three years seems like such a long time, but more than the time I feel like I have such a huge task ahead of me, an absolutely enormous mountain to climb. How on earth will I get up to that peak, of having a completed thesis? It seems so high up and far away...

I'm scared!!!!

Hi Cornflower,

I think a lot of us remember being in your position.  Your feelings are entirely normal, and your questions are pretty understandable too, so here are my answers :)

References - there are a number of bibliographic programs - EndNote and RefManager are the most common two, and are pretty similar. I use EndNote, and have done from the very start.  I think that the sooner you get using it, the more time you'll save. Perhaps you could find out what other members of your group use - people tend to use what their colleagues use for ease of transferring information.