The Russell Group

B

Dos on need a distinction to get a PhD place in the Russell Group?

H

Nope, I'm doing a PhD at one of the Russell group unis and I don't have a distinction.

C

So am I and I don't have a masters, never mind a distinction! I do have a first for my BSc though.

A

I'm distinctly average. No first, no distinction. Also at a Russell group.

No, I'm also at a Russell Group and have no distinction, I know planty of others who are also distinction free

H

I only have a 2.2 for my first degree as well, from another Russell group uni.

D

How much relevance is placed on going to a Russell Group University? Do people think it has a significant outcome in terms of career prospects?

J

University of Birmingham
University of Bristol; University of Cambridge; Cardiff University ;University of Edinburgh ;University of Glasgow ;Imperial College London ;King's College London
University of Leeds ;University of Liverpool ;London School of Economics & Political Science ;University of Manchester ;Newcastle University ;University of Nottingham ;Queen's University Belfast ;University of Oxford ;University of Sheffield ;University of Southampton ;University College London ;University of Warwick

20 Universities - but all they can do is award a PhD degree as hundreds of other universities in the UK. It doesn't matter where the PhD is from. Publications matter.

I think it does matter in terms of working for Russell group unis yourself in the future, they like to see it on your CV. But it's only a factor. I'd say the standing of your supervisor in the field you want to enter is just as important. And of course the quality of your publications even more so.

S

If your PhD is mediocre with no publications then it may well help if it's from a top ranking institution. But if you have a good PhD with good publications then the world's your oyster wherever you got it

J