Upcoming vivas

J

I just want to see who is queuing with me in the line of death (viva). I am due to have my viva end of March!

B

======= Date Modified 09 Feb 2010 12:30:38 =======
I'll be submitting (all going well) tomorrow, and would normally have the viva within 6 weeks. Eek!

I cracked open my viva preparation book last night before bed. It wasn't as scary as I thought it would be ;-)

J

Well done and congrats on the submission!
whatis the name of ur prepration book?
I m not using any books, just past experiences of friends and information from the internet.

Sometimes I feel the viva is not as scary as one thinks and sometimes I feel like I am underestimating it and it will be a hell of scary thing :-(

B

It's "The Doctoral Examination Process" by Tinkler and Jackson. I'm finding it very good for demystifying things, and highlighting core issues/themes I want to be prepared for.

I'm a part-time student, based away from campus, so can't rely on others' viva experience much. Well apart from my husband that is :-x

J

Good luck and hope to hear the good news after five weeks ;)

B

How's the preparation getting on Jateet? I've just heard who my internal + chairperson will be, which makes things seem that much more tangible. No firm viva date yet, but because all the examiners have now been appointed it's just a matter of fixing up a when next.

I've been taking a little break since submitting my thesis last week, but plan to resume gentle viva preparation (reading the book I recommended) this week. I'm also planning to meet my sup for an informal chat about what to expect in the viva. And I'll be thinking about general issues that might be raised by the examiners, though I can't prepare by tackling a long list of potential viva questions due to severe memory problems.

A

I will be facing the 'joy' of my re-viva in the next couple of months. I'm not looking forward to it :-(

J

Well I m not feeling i am doing a lot of preparations