Viva nightmare

S

Dear All
I have just sat my Viva today and walked out with major corrections and re-submission in no sooner than three, no longer than 12 months.(university guidelines)..I find myself totally devastated by the outcome....My examiners said they will send me a full report of the changes I need to make, but I just feel so bereft and demotivated by what happened I cannot face the prospect of having to continue work on a thesis I thought, and was led to believe, would pass muster. Has anyone got any words of advice or encouragement? It would be greatly appreciated!!!

J

SazzyCzar, I am sorry to hear this. I have little tangible experience on the viva and the whirlwind of emotions that must accompany the final stages. However, you will find people here who have been through this situation who could better advise you. Many of these people have gone on to do postdocs, to publish, to get good lecturing positions and to basically do all of the things someone with minor corrections can do. Might take a little longer is all. It’s not going to automatically stop you achieving those things. Part of me thinks this is all a bit pot-luck and down to getting a sticky examiner. I seriously would love to see a reform of the examination process and more accountability. Have you had a good chat with your supervisor(s)?
The most useful thing I can say is people who have been through this have gone on to do just as well as those who passed with minor corrections.
Might sound trite but all I can say is I wish you the very best and sending virtual hugs and positive energy your way. Take care :-) I’m sure someone who has completed will be along with more useful advice later. All the best

D

Hi SazzyCzar,

it must be quite hard to deal with it right now, as the experience is still fresh.

Don't despair. Wait to see the report with the changes you have to make. It might not be so much work after all.