What do PhD students wear?

D

Hi everyone,

I'm about to start my Psychology PhD next week and wanted to ask what may initially sound like a stupid question.

What do PhD students wear. Do you dress smartly like staff (I know lecturers can be tramps)or more dressed down like other students?

This wasn't an issue as an undergrad or during my MSc (e.g. jeans, trainers etc) but as well as the studying and research, I will be liasing with NHS professionals, charity directors, patients as study participants doing some teaching work etc.

I feel excited about starting but am starting to procrastinate over stupid MINOR details like this.

D

I reckon wear what you want on days you're not seeing patients etc. Then maybe a bit smarter when you have to meet people, but dont think you have to be too smart, definately not a suit

A

I did my PhD in a hospital department and there was a no jeans policy (cos of patient contact etc).

D

no one cares what you wear!!! wear what you feel right in - its like a freakshow in my lab with people that have just come off the catwalk to people who wear the same clothes for 9days running. As long as you shower and dont smell - i am sure you will be fine!

F

I am in a similar situation to Ann. If I am teaching or at the hospital then I dress smarter, other than that, anything goes.

A

Like the others have said, smarter for talking to people where you want to come across as professional, otherwise (if you are going to be in the library all day or something) whatever you like. I did some interviewing of clinicians and wore a skirt for that (I am female BTW). but also did some phone interviewing and i have been known to conduct an inteview on the phone from my sitting room in my pyjamas

S

Jeans and T shirts round here (like the lecturers in fact). Mind you, I do wear my better jeans and T shirts when I'm teaching!

R

Hi,