What is the minimum grade for PHD prospect?

B

Hey guys I am an MSC student and well jst went through my first sememster and i got a mean grade of B in a UK university. I have been an average student all along in my life and I am wondering if I would be able to get a good PHD while scoring a B. In the university I was they grade in A,B,C,D and then Fail. Kindly guys advice me, i think i am willing to take on a PHD later but also again is that grade ok?

A

you will need more than 'average' drive to do a phd.

H

The grades help but a PhD is also about the person. You have to want it, have the commitment and be willing to do some serious graft.
And kiss goodbye to relationships, social life, money and ever seeing the sun for three years. I made that last bit up

B

Thanks guys, well but am not really sure if that grade is pleasant at all. Well, been trying to think on one side if I was a professor evaluating a student, would that grade impress me at all?Well i dn't know...What's ur opinion guys...?

A

I was not only distinctly average at MSc but bordering on not very good. But, it turns out, I am good at research. My dissertation is about it be published (well part of it) and I had worked on publications for charitable organisations as well.

I was told I got the studentship because they could see my enthusiasm for the topic. So, if you really want it, go in there and show them you want it. Am coping just fine. Normally do about 3 drafts of things before my supervisors are happy, don't feel under any great amount of stress most of the time and generally love my PhD.

And trust me, I was not averaging anywhere near Bs at ANY time in my MSc...

A

B