Where to go?

R

Hi

I've just completed my undergrad degree and I am taking a year out before taking a MSc. Currently I have offers on courses at 4 different universities. I have now managed to narrow this choice down to 2 universities. However one of the institutions is where I did my undergrad degree. I am unsure whether it is better to move to a new university and have a fresh start, or whether I should just stay at my current university, which to be honest will be much easier as I will get a reduction in course fees and I know the area etc.

Can anyone offer me any advice on this?

Thanks

D

Hi Raf, I personally moved to different unis for UG/Masters/PhD. However I came across many people who stayed on, all said they wished they had moved as it "wasn't the same" - memories, friends had moved on, the expectation things would still be the same but just never weren't.

Hi Raf. I can't say from my own experience as I took a few years out in between my undergraduate and postgraduate studies, and went somewhere different for postgrad. But I've heard the same thing from people who stayed on at the same university - it felt completely different to them as so many of their friends had left. Being a postgraduate is very different from being an undergraduate anyway - the focus is different, the expectations of how you will work (much more self-reliance and self-motivation) and the concentration on studies as opposed to the student lifestyle with studies as one part of that (if that makes sense!)

I would say think about the actual course - which looks more like the sort of thing you want to study? Which one will teach you more? Which one will set you up better for whatever you think you might want to do afterwards?