Moving from a Russell Group to Ex-Poly

S

I have a BA and MA from a very highly ranked Russell Group University. I hold an offer for a PhD at said university but no funding. I am applying for a funded place at a (very good) ex poly. Would it be crazy to take up the funded place? How would it impact on academic career prospects?

H

Hard to comment without knowing the institutions and subjects but...

- depends on your long term aims and the field you are in. In some fields the academic career prospects are dire regardless of where you've studied.
- that said, a 'good' uni may boost your credentials.
- at research level, sometimes it's the PI/department reputation that matters more than the university, so do your homework on this front.
- generally I would caution against anyone doing a full time unfunded PhD *anywhere* (even Oxbridge), but others will disagree with me on this. This applies particularly, in my opinion, to anyone wanting to pursue an academic career, as the chances of the 'investment' paying off are so slim.
- depending on what you're doing, it can be good to mix it up and not do all three of your degrees at the same university.

B

Depending on your field, strong research methods training might be important, so you might want to compare what both institutions have on offer in addition to HazyJane's list.
I would also say that an unfunded PhD is to be avoided if possible, and would agree with the advice that you need to look at the reputation of the department rather than institutions. You might want to ask your MA dissertation advisor for some blunt advice, on whether the ex-poly dept you're considering is considered good in the field or not.

H

Quote From bewildered:
Depending on your field, strong research methods training might be important, so you might want to compare what both institutions have on offer

Definitely. And also the likely availability of the respective supervisors. The supervisor can make or break the project.

P