Suggestion on IELTS score and admissions

K

Hi,
As I am an international student, to apply for Phd, I have given my IELTS academic.I achieved 7 and 7.5 scores for listening, reading and speaking but for writing unfortunately it was just 5.5. I was devastated initially, still that was the reality.
I am a mechanical engineer by profession. Completed my Bachelors with a distinction (70%), Master's Degree with 81% (Gold Medalist), Industrial experience of 4 years and moreover, 2 years experience in teaching (ie., as a faculty for UG mechanical) with few research works done. Also, I have published 7 journals on the works.

While applying, I observe the requirements as minimum of 6.5 IELTS, I assume that they are looking for overall band of 6.5. But, my concern is as I have one component below 6, will they consider my application?? Will they have any weightage for academic excellence and Induatrial expertise?? Or will they just go by scores in selection for admissions??
Currently I am working for a long term research project in UK. Looks my dreams of getting a PhD seat is fading off because of my scores. I really don't have time to give this IELTS again as I have only 1 year (perfectly 11 months) of Visa left to stay in this country. If I start preparing and give it again, another 2 months will be consumed by the time I receive my scores. Completely depressed.

Kindly give your suggestions on this from the knowledge you all have!!

Thank you!!

B

Unfortunately the rule tends to be overall 6.5 with no component below 6.0. I think you will have problems, not least because many PhD supervisors feel it's unethical to take students without strong written English.

K

Oh,
So, do you suggest me not to apply for any of the universities right now with these scores?? Or can I give a go applying?? I am completely out of my mind, I did not expect such a low score. As I am not that weak with English, its a massive shock. Time constraint is ruining me furthermore.