Relocation in full time funded phd

H

Hi,

I have a chance to join Phd with full funding. But my husband just told me that we will possibly be relocating in 2 years to another country. The funding contract says "must refund full/prorate bursary"...I am not sure which one they will impose. I am not sure if Full time can be done from another country for last 2 years.

I have not signed anything, but I could not do it knowing the fact that I wont be here all 3-4 years. I have emailed by supervisor on all this, I dont know if that was a mistake or was it right thing to do. I am waiting for his reply. So what do you give advice on my situation.

P.s: Hostel not possible because I have kids, so I HAVE to relocate with their dad.

M

You set your own priorities in life. The way I understand it, you place your husband and children above your PhD (you do well, it's your life after all). But money is involved and the university may not be happy with the arrangement of relocation. You did well to clarify this issue from day one. Better safe than sorry. Good luck! I hope you hear back soon, and all goes well for you.

By the way, if I were in your shoes I would consider staying away from my husband and children while completing my PhD (for a year or two), but as I said, these are personal matters. I would visit my family as regularly as possible though.

H

You have done the right thing by raising these issues at the outset as it would be more problematic to deal with them later on. I would take the statement about refunding the bursary very seriously, and get written confirmation as to how it would apply (if at all) to your proposed change of circumstances.