Changing supervisor after a year

A

Hi everyone! I am in my second year and I am thinking of changing supervisor. The reason is that since from the start of my PhD, I see him more like a man than a supervisor and this affects my progress quite a lot (I think of him a lot,I think of what I will wear, how I will talk/sit/smile etc). On the other hand, my research goes really well, because apart from my intrinsic motivation on the subject I also want to impress him intellectually. Has anyone felt like that? Do you think it is an unhealthy work relationship?

A

Or any advice on how to stop feeling like this?

S

Welcome to the board Athina.

I have three male supervisors so I don't spend too much time worrying how I look in front of them. That said, I do like to sound like I know what I'm doing!

I'm sure the other members will be able to help though.

J

wow! this is a tough one athina.

i need to think about this one before i reply.

H

It sounds like you are doing well but also that you have a bit of a crush on him. As long as you NEVER EVER attempt to take things further, nothing will go wrong

A

Thanks guys for your replies. The thing is that day after day, I think of him more and more and I am afraid that it has started to get obvious. I am afraid that soon my behavior and body language will betray me (I blush when he gives me a compliment and my tone of voice, expression etc changes when he suggests that we do something together-e.g. attend a conference). It is really a torture; sometimes I wish he knew...

J