Competitiveness in Academia

M

Every day, I am figuring out that competitiveness in academia is so high. Of course, there are thousands of academician, but little who really made the impact through their outstanding research. My goal is to be prominent in my research as this was my goal since I was a young girl, I got a position as assistant lecturer at my home university which is not up to the standards and I worked with not competent professors. I travelled later, and then I found that I am not good at all and figured out that this goal is far beyond after being forced to leave my PhD by one year which is regarded as a black point in my portfolio.

I know maybe this quite off-topic, but I am now going to complete 28, and I didn't achieve what I was looking for, I am quite disappointed as when looking to female role-models' path were straight; I had some bumps in my life that made the delay. I wish I can know how to find a good lab, I wish to work with a really good professor.

The question is: How one could survive in academia beyond publications because there are thousands of crappy research and little who made a serious impact. I really passionate about learning, and exploring, I feel I am in a cage and I want to find the place where I belong, but I didn't yet, and I am afraid it is too late.

E

Hi monkia. I fully support you and wish you the best. Here comes the "but". I think you need a bit of personal development. You should accept your defeat in your last PhD. Thinking too much that you were brilliant and the supervisor was evil won't help anymore even if this is the truth. After a failure, we usually think it is not fair. Yes it can be unfair. But what is more important is what comes next. One important quality of strong persons, and I think you are one of them, is to know how to move on. Do not cry too much over the spilt milk. It is gone.