Entirely lost motivation and interest in PhD (after 1+ year)

B

MAIN QUESTION: is anyone with a similar experience out here?

Hi all,

Please let me give you some context. I had a very successful time during my Bachelor's and Master's and certainly the best time of my life in nearly all aspects. After I graduated I found a job and started working. I've been working there for about a year, but had to leave as things were deeply dissatisfying (I was doing "intern" tasks with no end in sight; small town and zero social life). I went then for another year to Asia (to work), which did not turn out to be much better. Then I came to the idea to do a PhD as I always enjoyed uni, did well, and loved the atmosphere and everything. I found a PhD position (self-funded), but lost the interest in my PhD quite quickly. This is probably also the reason, why I never managed to find a topic. I have not really done anything for my PhD in several months and I'm only coming into uni to work on one of my three jobs (tutoring, research assistant), which I more or less enjoy. The rest of the time, I'm trying to work on my PhD, but instead I am only procrastinating and get nothing done.

The rest of my life did not improve (social life, living conditions), the only light is that my partner is present and came to this city because of me.

If I would have an alternative, I would had already quit, but I don't have any and I also don't even know what I possibly do with my life. This may sound quite surprising for someone at a PhD level, being self-funded, and being 31 years old.

If someone is or was in a similar - unfortunate - situation like this,I would like to hear about your experience. general advice would also be appreciated.

Thanks in any case.

bluegrass

T