Im not getting any smarter...

C

======= Date Modified 26 19 2010 15:19:00 =======
Hu Guys, I just joined this site and this maybe a topic that has been covered so apologies if it is but does anyone feel that they are somehow getting less intelligent whilst doing their PhD?

I was always a top student, got a 1st degree and a 1st MA and always thought of myself as highly capable etc. Im in my 2nd year of my PhD now and feeling less capable and intelligent than ever. Maybe its because I have no one to else to compare progress with anymore or maybe its just that when you are only studying one very specific thing you dont feel like you are gaining a vast amount of knowledge but its getting me down. Im starting to question everything-like will I even be able to lecture at the end of this?

I look at lecturers and I just dont think I will ever be abvle to accumulate that kind of broad knowledge.

As I continue to write chapters of my thesis, I just feel like Im writing a lot of essays and Im no longer seeing the bigger picture or how all these "essays" connect.

Please tell me someone else out there feels or has felt the same and come through!

D

I often say that I feel I know less after finishing my Phd than before I started! I think the problem is you end up realising that there is just SO much knowledge out there it becomes overwhelming to the point you see that what you know is only a tiny fraction of what knowledge is out there.

So you're not the only one, don't worry!

S

Maybe you're suffering from the converse of the Dunning-Kruger effect: that your increasing competence has weakened your self-confidence because you falsely assume that "normal people" have equivalent abilities. It's also unfair to compare yourself to lecturers because they have had many more years of learning than you. It's like comparing GCSE and Uni students.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunning%E2%80%93Kruger_effect