PowerPoint Presentation

H

Hi all, :)

I have a PhD studentship interview, as I've mentioned in previous threads.

I have two questions:

a) I have to do a 5 minute presentation, should I use a powerpoint presentation? I know I could do fine without it, but my friend said if I prepare one and use it, it shows that I have made an effort.

b) Has anyone used a powerpoint for a PhD interview/presentation? Is it possible you could kindly show me a copy of it, just so I know I'm on the right track. Would be much appreciated :)

M

Hiya,

I didn't have to give a presentation (or even an interview, damn my uni seems so easy compared to elsewhere!), but I would definitely use Powerpoint if I had to. Gives you something to focus on, looks really professional, gives you a chance to show off your presenting/lecturing skills, and I personally think that it makes presenting so much easier! For 5 minutes though, try to keep the number of slides/text on them to a minimum - just key points. :-)

Good luck with it - hope you get it. xx

H

MissGeography:

Thank you :)

N

I checked this out before my interview, and was explicitly told that no visual presentation was necessary or expected. Good luck!

H

Quote From NapoleonofCrime:

I checked this out before my interview, and was explicitly told that no visual presentation was necessary or expected. Good luck!

I checked with them and they said that equipment would be available if required.

D

You'll probably end up giving powerpoint presentations throughout a PhD so it's no harm to do one for this presentation - it's fairly standard format by now. I used powerpoint for a presentation for one PhD i applied for and also for a couple of jobs as well. I would offer to send it to you but I have no idea where it is as it was several years ago now!

H

Quick question: Is it OK if I use the university in question's logo in my presentation?

T