Thinking of quitting

K

I'm in my first year and am having serious doubts as to whether to continue my PhD. I haven't really enjoyed it from the start but I kept thinking I'd give it more time and see if things improved. Now that I'm coming to the end of my first year, I wonder whether there's any point continuing. For a start I find it hard to answer the question 'do I really want a PhD'? But then there's the problem of will it look really bad to future employers to have quite after a year - does anyone have any experience/thougths about this. The alternative of course is to just get on with it and stop wasting time thinking about quitting but is there any point wasting 3/4 years feeling bored and miserable?

S

I think that if you are going to quit this is the ideal time. It isn't that uncommon and I don't think employers will be concerned - especially since presumably the jobs will not require a PhD. If you are miserable and you don't need a PhD for a future career, then 2 more years might be pointless. You could try assuming you've definitley decided to quit and see how you feel after a couple of days. If you are just relieved - that's your answer.

J

That's good advice.

P