Unemployed PhD

_

Hello there,
I know this is a common scenario, so I suppose I'm just looking for a bit of advice/support here. I got my PhD in theology about four years ago now; during and since then I have worked as a VL ('visiting lecturer' - even though I worked there for nine years!), module leader for an online course, and other academic roles. However, since my last job ended (all of my contracts have been temporary) almost a year ago I have been unable to find work. I've had countless interviews and always receive the same feedback - really good interview, great candidate, on any other day we'd have taken you. Flattering at first but not helpful when you hear it so many times. The university I taught at for almost a decade, after I decided not to put up with shitty contracts, then advertised my post as a proper, contracted position, which I of course went for, but didn't get. I'd been doing that job well for nine years and students' feedback was always positive. I've since tried to just get a retail job, and taken all of my qualifications off my CV - have had interviews but nothing ever comes of them. I've now been accepted on a high school teacher training course, but it's really not what I want to do. The whole situation is really getting to me, and I don't know what more I can do. Any thoughts/advice would be so welcome!
Thanks for reading :)

B

Well I don't think you should do teacher training if your heart isn't in it. And I think you just need to accept that the university was stringing you on and let it go. We are often far more loyal to an employer than they ever would be to us and universities are no exception to that rule. The casualisation of university teaching is a real issue in the sector.