Unemployed

D

I have been looking for work and have had many rejections of late. Because no jobs are in sight I registered as unemployed yesterday. I am actively looking for full-time work and have the time to do a full-time job. I was immediately told by an adviser that in 3 months they'll consider placements for me and make me do voluntary work. Had they checked the information I gave them they would know I had genuinely applied for jobs.

Can they do this? I certainly don't mind doing voluntary work and have done in the past but can I not arrange this myself? I already feel harrassed by them and I've done nothing wrong!

E

Yep, I had this but it was after I finished my Bsc. I think they that just to make you look for jobs thinking that everyone on unemployment lines are unskilled, unqualified people- in actual fact more and more people with quailifications are on job-seekers allowance!

Can they do it? Yes, they do check occasionally. I think it's to make people apply more than anything!

L

======= Date Modified 12 Oct 2011 10:41:20 =======
======= Date Modified 12 Oct 2011 10:41:03 =======
I'm not sure what the current rules for job-seekers allowance is, I had to go on it after I finished my BSc (~7 years ago), whilst looking for a PhD and a job to tide me over until I got one. At that time they told me I had to keep records of the jobs I'd applied for and show them to them, I think you had to show them that you'd applied for about 3 suitable jobs every couple of weeks. The problem is what they deem suitable, as has been mentioned the job centres don't seem to know what to do with people with degrees, they seem to be more suited to finding people 'unskilled' jobs.

I would read up on the current rules online, and find out what they need to know, meanwhile keep applying for jobs and don't expect much help from them in finding a job that you want. Good luck.

D

Thanks for responding. Hopefully, I'll get a job sooner rather than later...