latex question

S

hi, I really need some advice about latex. My friend recommended it to me.
1. how long will it take to learn how to use it
2. if I download latex for windows, and then have another one for mac, will it read the same when I switch computers

thanks
satchi

M

Hi Satchi, not sure about the compatibility between Mac and PC but I would have thought they should be. I started using Latex in November and although I am still learning I would say it took about a week to get to a point where I was fairly comfortable using it ( I am part time so thats not a week of actual work, I would say probably half a day or so if I was on it all the time. I wouldn't go back to Word now (unless its just to type a quick note where the formatting doesn't matter. But as far as prodcing a professional looking report for me Latex wins hands down, I am no longer wrestling with Words "Features" that we all know and love.
Give it a go you may be converted you never know.
If you want to know anything else let me know
Max

S

hi maxipat
thanks for your reply. Can you post me a link for the LaTEx download? The one you are using, so at least I have a friend who's done it :-) :-) :-)

for some strange reason I have been finding it difficult to work with Word, I dont know why. I will have a look at this latex thingy, hope it works out for me

love satchi

Hi Satchi!!!

I have been thinking about trying Latex too so if you get hold of a link could you pass it on please!!

This way we can learn together too :-)

Thanks,
EV

S

hi Ev
here is a link my friend sent me
http://www.tug.org/mactex/2009/
but I think its for mac, I will look for the windows version

love satchi

S
W

What is latex good for as opposed to word?

Thanks Satchi!!!!

I'll play with it a bit over the next few days and see how I get on.

EV :-):-):-)

G